Whole Foods Snack Haul

543px-Whole_Foods_Market_logo.svg

Liam has quite a restricted diet, which can be common with kids with autism. I have had some people say to me “Oh he will eat when he gets hungry enough” which is NOT the case with kids with sensory issues. They will go hungry indefinitely before they will eat something that can trigger a sensory issue.

I have been looking for ways to get Liam to eat more protein and veggies. He seems to really enjoy carbs (he is totally my son!) and will eat chips, french fries and crackers until he explodes. He will occasionally eat grilled cheese, PB & J and chicken nuggets. However, even those items are not really healthy.

Then, I saw this video on my Youtube Feed and a light bulb went off!

We are not a Gluten Free/Vegetarian/Vegan household, but that is no reason not to start trying some of those foods! If I can sneak Liam foods that have veggies and protein, that would make things so much easier! Also, Trent and I are trying to eat healthier, so it would be good for us also!

Here are some of the snacks I purchased and we are going to be testing over the next few weeks!

Beanitos Nacho Cheese. These actually taste pretty close to Nacho Cheese Doritos! Liam has been scarfing these down!

Beanitos Nacho Cheese. These actually taste pretty close to Nacho Cheese Doritos! Liam has been scarfing these down! Gluten Free & Vegetarian

Beanitos Better Cheddar Gluten Free & Vegetarian

Beanitos Better Cheddar
We haven’t tried these yet, but they are up next! Gluten Free & Vegetarian

The Good Bean Sweet Cinnamon. Liam hasn't tried these yet, but I have! So yummy and can't wait to try the other flavors!  Gluten Free, Vegan, Nut Free, Soy Free

The Good Bean Sweet Cinnamon. Liam hasn’t tried these yet, but I have! So yummy and can’t wait to try the other flavors! Gluten Free, Vegan, Nut Free, Soy Free

Snikiddy's Eat Your Vegetables in Sea Salt. Liam hasn't tried this yet, but I have and really like it! As someone who is not a veggie eater, I wouldn't have thought I would like something  made of veggies, but this is good! Going to try more! Gluten Free, Vegan

Snikiddy’s Eat Your Vegetables in Sea Salt. Liam hasn’t tried this yet, but I have and really like it! As someone who is not a veggie eater, I wouldn’t have thought I would like something made of veggies, but this is good! Going to try more! Gluten Free, Vegan

Nature's All Foods Freeze Dried Apples and Pineapples. THESE ARE SO YUMMY!  Gluten Free, Vegan

Nature’s All Foods Freeze Dried Apples and Pineapples. THESE ARE SO YUMMY! Gluten Free, Vegan

pineapples

 

So, there you have it! My sneaky healthy snacks haul! As Liam starts to try some of these items, I will post reviews (if Trent and I don’t eat them all first!). What are your favorite healthy snacks?

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment