It Cosmetics Confidence in a Compact Review

snapseed

Hello Friends!

If you have been a reader of my blog for any length of time then you know that I love It Cosmetics. Their CC Cream is my one true foundation love. When I saw that QVC was launching a kit with a new foundation product I ordered it asap. I’ve been using it for several months now and I’m ready to share my thoughts with all of you! SPOILER ALERT: So Disappointed!

Guys, I really don’t know how to express to you the levels of my irritation with this foundation.

This foundation is based off of their Confidence in a Cream Moisturizer (which I love and is awesome and Ulta sells deluxe sized samples for like $15 so go try it) and the premise sounds interesting as it’s a solid serum foundation so yay new awesome full coverage foundation/skin care??

NOPE

Okay, now that I have vented a little let’s get into the actual review!

The It Cosmetics Confidence in a Compact is $38. The claims per the Ulta Website are:

  • Delivers all the skincare benefits of best-selling Confidence in a Cream in your first-ever solid serum foundation!
  • Anti-aging skincare, full-coverage foundation and SPF 50+ physical sunscreen in one simple step
  • Groundbreaking formula transforms from a solid to a serum for your most weightless, flawless finish
  • Anti-Aging Armour Rejuvenating Concentrate plus hydrolyzed collagen, hyaluronic acid, squalane, and a super ceramide cream for younger-looking skin
  • Innovative airtight compact lid for your freshest, most hydrating results

Please keep in mind that I am 38 years old, so if you are in your 20’s with drastically different skin care needs, this foundation may work with your skin. I can only tell you what it did for me.

The brush that came with my QVC kit (and is in the above picture) can be bought individually (it’s $48) and honestly you are going to need some kind of brush. The sponge did nothing for me and due to the nature of the whole solid serum foundation blending it out with my fingers was totally frustrating and not worth the effort.

I’m not sure what kind of voodoo the QVC studios use, but when watching the videos it looks like it’s a wham bam thank you mam full coverage foundation. It’s not. Can you make it full coverage? Yes. You just have to use a LOT of product. Also, you have to figure out different application methods for different areas of your face. Some areas you use your brush to sweep it on, buff it in or stipple it.

I know it sounds like I’m being nit picky about the application/full coverage thing, but I have maybe 10 minutes every morning to do whatever I’m going to do with my makeup and I don’t have time to baby a foundation in the mornings. That’s just not my lifestyle right now. The reason I love their CC Cream so much is that it is medium to full coverage and it’s EASY. If I drop my foundation brush on the floor while lunging to stop Liam from his latest stunt, no problem I can finish with my fingers or a makeup sponge and it still looks good!

Also, the wear time on me was no good. I’m a stay at home mom which means I don’t have to worry about makeup staying in place all day at a job, but this stuff starts breaking up on my nose and forehead by lunch. LAME.

The first picture below is just me with my skin care applied. The next pictures are full face but I used no concealer, powder foundation or setting powder. The pictures show the foundation can be built up to decent coverage but I just can’t deal with the frustration of babying this product to get there.

snapseed-8

snapseed-9

snapseed-7

The one positive I can say about this foundation is that it does feel like the Confidence in a Cream Moisturizer. Once you’ve gotten it the way you want it and it sinks in to your skin it feels like nothing on your face.

Bottom Line? I will not repurchase. With all the work, plus the huge amount of product I have to use each time it is not worth the $38. I will stick to the It Cosmetics CC Cream that is easy to use and looks great and works!

Have you tried Confidence in a Compact? Did you love it or hate it? Let me know your thoughts in the comment section!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “It Cosmetics Confidence in a Compact Review

  1. Oh man! I’m on wait list for this. Guess I’ll cancel that order. Thanks for the heads up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

