Ouidad VitalCurl Classic Curls Trial Kit

brand_logo

Nothing to Disclose

Hello Friends!

The thing about being born with curly hair is that you are destined to be a product junkie. People with curly hair will try just about anything that promises some way to make your hair do what you want. Curly hair has a mind of it’s own! You can use the same products, in the same order and use the same techniques every day and you never know what your hair will decide to do.  I am not any kind of hair expert (seriously, my hair does what it wants and I am just along for the ride), but this year I’m going to start reviewing some cruelty free curly hair brands and products.

The first brand I’m going to review is Ouidad. Ouidad’s packaging all states that they do not test on animals. I also checked all my usual sites and while they weren’t on anyone’s cruelty free list they also weren’t on any gray area or tests on animals list. I reached out to the brand and they confirmed that they do not test on animals and also do not sell in China. So for now I feel comfortable using Ouidad as a cruelty free company.

On to the review!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

VitalCurl Trial Set for Classic Curls at Ulta for $36. It appears they have changed the set slightly since I purchased mine. However, all of the items in the set I purchased are available in the permanent line.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Clear & Gentle Shampoo I love LOVE this shampoo. I have fine curly hair, so the No Poo Curly Girl Method doesn’t really work for me. I always need a shampoo, however finding a good cruelty free curl friendly shampoo has been hard. The down side is that a single 8.5 oz bottle is $18!!  I am currently trying to talk myself into it by reasoning that I only wash with shampoo twice a week (I refresh with conditioner the rest of the week) so a bottle would last me a long time and I really love the shampoo, but it’s $18!!!

Balancing Rinse Conditioner This is an okay conditioner. It works well, but at the rate I go through conditioner, it is not worth $20 for an 8.5 oz bottle. There are much cheaper conditioners that work just as well or better at a much cheaper price point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tress Effects Styling Gel This is a really nice gel that doesn’t leave your hair crunchy (just as a reminder you can always gently scrunch dry hair to remove any gel cast). I think this would be a nice starter gel for someone because it’s hard to mess up. Living in Florida, I need something a little stronger to fight the humidity.

Define & Shine Styling Gel-Creme This is the item that was in my kit but is not in the current kit. This worked great for me in the “winter” months in Florida when the humidity is not at it’s normal levels. I was a little surprised how much I liked this because creme stylers have not always been my friend, so yay for the hybrid!

Well, that’s a wrap on my first Ouidad review, I have a few more products from this line that I’m testing and I have some other curly hair goodies from different brands that I will be reviewing soon!

Do you have curly hair? Let me know what works for you!

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Ouidad VitalCurl Classic Curls Trial Kit

  1. Pingback: March 2016 Favorites: Beauty, Fandom & Random | onelostmama

Leave a Reply

