Book Review: Knight of Light (The Watchers Book One)

knight of light

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book for review purposes.

Knight of Light Synopsis“The Watchers” are supernatural beings in human form, charged with protecting mankind from the armies of darkness. Unfortunately, some of these Watchers go bad. In England, 1270 A.D., Auriella flees her village after being accused of witchcraft. Pursued by nightmarish creatures, she struggles to accept the truth about her humanity. Filled with fairies, dwarves, pixies, dragons, and monsters, Knight of Light is an enthralling tale that will capture the imaginations of readers young and old.

I love to read and I will read pretty much anything, so I was super excited when I was given a chance to read this book in exchange for a review. Historical fiction and fantasy are both genres that I love to read and I was really interested in reading a book that combined the two.

I think Ms. Eden has quite a few interesting ideas in this book, but I felt like she tried to jam way too much, way too soon in the first book of her Watchers series. It felt like the main character, Auriella, just jumps from situation to situation too quickly and without ever having anything give her depth as a person.

I am trying not to go in depth and give away spoilers, but one situation that struck me as ringing false is the family that “adopts” Auriella. There is no way that a noble family with three sons would make an orphan girl a joint heir with all three sons, not in 1270 England. The estate would go to the oldest son and maybe the other two sons would get a little something, but there is zero chance even a girl born into such a family would be considered a joint heir, much less a servant girl who becomes beloved of the family. I know you are probably thinking, um this story has witches, pixies, dwarfs and various other magical creatures, why are you bothered by a historical plot point?? I know it seems silly, but it just totally threw me out of the story.

Although, I don’t think this will be a major children crossover smash like Harry Potter, I do think that this would be a great introduction to fantasy for the targeted age group, which is 9-12 year olds. There is a very sweet and innocent love story and there is nothing very scary even during the scenes with the witch.

My bottom line opinion is that while I didn’t love this book, I think kids might enjoy this as an easy transition into fantasy novels.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

