DIY Summer Pedi

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hey guys!

What happens when a klutz with polish (and life in general) falls down and has a horrific nail casualty?  She has to learn how to improvise!

While on vacation a few weeks ago, I slipped and fell and ripped my right big toe nail clean off. Once I got over the urge to pass out and got cleaned up, I started worrying about what was important….pedicures!  I live in Florida and staying in closed toe shoes in the summer is not an option for me…but walking around with nine painted toe nails looks goofy.

I had already started working on my own home pedi kit when I was contacted by Abbey at Julep asking me to create my perfect summer DIY pedicure. I don’t have a lot, but what I do have is all very easy to use!

Let’s get started!

The Emjoi is a battery operated dry skin and callus remover.  They are available on QVC for 30.00.  That may seem like a lot of money, but this little guy is amazing. Instead of getting your feet scrubbed by those scary razor looking things at a nail salon, invest in this little guy. It’s micro-mineral roller helps to smooth away dead skin and if you press too hard on your foot it shuts off.  I love that it has that built in protection!  You need to use this on dry feet, so I use this first.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once I finish with the Emjoi, I move on to a foot soak with Dr Teal’s Epsom Salt. It also helps while my ankle is still feeling tweaked from falling a few weeks ago!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter the foot soak, it is time to moisturize!  I am currently enjoying Freeman’s Bare Foot Lavender & Mint.  You can purchase this at Walmart.  It smells and feels amazing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFor my polish color I chose Zoya’s Thandie.  It is a very pretty summery orange.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter polish of course comes top coat.  I just grabbed whatever was in my polish drawer. Nail Aid Gel Xtreme Shine Top Coat.  I’m pretty sure I got this at Walmart.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo because of my missing nail, I had to get creative with my pedi.  My inspiration behind this pedicure and the reason I used Thandie (besides it being a super pretty color) was to coordinate with these:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had these in my medicine cabinet for Liam and thought they would work to cover my toe nail in public so that I could still wear sandals and flip flops.  It actually works pretty well!  Here is the finished look:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I realize this is slightly different than a typical summer pedi post, but what did you think?  Do you have any other ideas that I can use to disguise my toe?

Have you tried any Julep nail polish? I have a long wish list I want to try. What is your favorite Julep polish?

Thanks for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Summer Pedi

  1. So so cute! I love that shade of nail polish, and I love your improvisation with the band-aid. 🙂 I’m so sorry about your toenail injury! That sounds painful!

    Oh, and I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award! I don’t know if you’ve ever done it or anything like it, but here’s the link to my post where you can read the rules and such: http://kittyapprovedbeauty.wordpress.com/2014/07/19/liebster-award-nomination-eep/
    I love reading your blog so I definitely think you deserve it. Hope you don’t mind me nominating you! Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

