The Balm Haul & Review

trio cropped

I bought Mary-Lou Manizer, Cindy-Lou Manizer and Frat Boy Blush the last time the Balm was on  HauteLook.*  I have been using them quite a bit since they arrived and decided to finally put up a post about these items!

frat boy cover cropped frat boy flash cropped frat boy no flash cropped

First up is Frat Boy.  This is a matte (no shimmer) pinky-coral color.  I don’t usually have good luck with powder blushes because they seem to immediately disappear on my cheeks, but not with Frat Boy.  I LOVE this blush!  I use a very light hand to build up the color to the desired intensity.  This blush makes me excited to try some of the Balm’s other blushes!  I took two pictures as depending on the lighting, this blush can pull more pink or more coral.  The middle picture is taken with flash and the last picture is taken without flash.

mary lou manizer cover mary lou manizer cropped

Next up is the famous Mary-Lou Manizer!  There are about a million reviews on this awesome product and Mary is just as amazing as every review out there has said.  This Highlighter is super super pigmented.  I just use a small fan brush to place this on the the top of my cheekbones, I also add a little to the inner corner of my eyes and to my cupids bow.  I am going to say it again, super pigmented!  This product has a chance to go very very wonky on your face if you over apply!  Since such a little goes a long way, I expect this product to last the rest of eternity!

cindy lou manizer cover cropped cindy lou manizer cropped

Finally is the newest Highlighter in the family Cindy-Lou Manizer!  As you can see, Cindy had a little mishap.  The second time I used this product, I was tapping off the excess because this product is also super pigmented and shimmery (are you sensing a theme??) the bottom corner kind of crumpled and some of the product has fallen out.  However, Cindy is a trooper and still going strong!  I am really enjoying this as a quick blush/highlighter combo, instead of using strictly as a highlighter.  Try to be careful when applying by slowly building up color (if you decide to try it as a blush), as this product can also become way too much shimmer quickly.  It really is quite pretty on and I am excited to continue to use this product!

Here are some swatches:

First picture is with flash and second is without flash.

(L to R: Frat Boy, Mary-Lou Manizer & Cindy-Lou Manizer)

fingers flash cropped fingers no flash cropped

swatches flash cropped swatches no flash cropped

Have you tried any products from the Balm?  What have you tried and loved/hated? What should I try next?

Thanks for reading!

*My personal referral link.

5 thoughts on “The Balm Haul & Review

  1. Looks great! I haven’t tried any yet but I’ve wanted to try that highlighter for quite some time. And the blushes seem really nice too!

    Like

    • Thanks! the Balm is usually on Hautelook every two or three months, if you check in the Beauty Section and scroll all the way down, it tells you a few days ahead, which brand is coming up. You can get a really good discount that way!

      Like

  2. Pingback: onelostmama | PSA: the Balm will be on HauteLook on Friday, June 20th!

Leave a Reply

