Kose buys Tarte Cosmetics – UPDATED 3/19/14

**UPDATE**

Per Maureen on tarte’s Facebook page:

Hey tartelettes – It’s Maureen
I’ve been reading your comments and concerns over the past hour and wanted to let you know I hear them all loud and clear. I promise, I’m not going anywhere. I started tarte out of my one bedroom apartment and I’m still just as passionate about making innovative, eco-friendly products that deliver real results. I’ll still be in the office every day working with my team to develop new products I hope you’ll love as much as I do. Remember, tarte will NOT be testing on animals, or EVER test on animals. We are a cruelty-free company and will remain one. KOSÉ is completely on board with our position as an eco-friendly, cruelty-free company and has given tarte such a great opportunity to grow and expand around the world. It’s really an exciting time and we can’t wait to reach more tartelettes worldwide. Please look at the checklist below and be assured tarte is in great hands.

xo, Maureen
· We will remain a cruelty-free beauty brand focused on high-performance naturals™
· We will continue to manufacture our high-quality products to our exacting standards, which means our formulas will continue to be formulated without parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, triclosan, sodium lauryl sulfate, and gluten
· We will continue to formulate with good-for-you ingredients like Amazonian clay, maracuja, minerals, colored clay, superfruits and vitamins
· With my team, we will continue to innovate and create products we believe tartelettes will love
· We will continue to expand internationally where are our high standards are met—we can’t wait to reach more tartelettes worldwide!

It sounds like they are going to operate like Urban Decay and remain cruelty free.  Provided they don’t enter China or other countries that require testing, they should remain safe to purchase from.

Here are some great posts from other bloggers about the tarte situation if you are interested:

Phyrra

Logical Harmony

My Beauty Bunny

************************************************************************************************************

Just saw this article by Muse pop up on my bloglovin feed.

This makes me anxious.  All I can do now is hope they follow Urban Decay’s model of staying cruelty free with a parent company that is not cruelty free.  Has anyone else heard about this?

Also, if you haven’t checked Muse’s blog out, you are missing out!

3 thoughts on “Kose buys Tarte Cosmetics – UPDATED 3/19/14

  1. Ok I’m gonna be so upset if any cruelty free stuff changes with this brand. I don’t even own this brand (yet) but it’s something I’ve seriously been looking into because I’ve seen that so many things look great through research I’ve done. Im willing to spend more for CF stuff that is good quality. Here’s hoping!

    Like

    • Liam had speech therapy today so I apologize for the delay in replying! I only have one of their cheek stains which I love, but had a lot more stuff on my “to buy” list. I guess now that is on hold until more info comes out.

      Like

      • Oh no worries! I’m usually quick only because I’m a little obsessive and probably sneak time on my phone when I shouldn’t haha. I hope his speech therapy went well today 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

